“Michigan State University Federal Credit Union was originally called Michigan State College Employees Credit Union, only serving campus employees when founded in 1937.”— MSUFCU History
Subscribe  mail icon

Student Winners Announced

print page
Published: Mar 10, 2014

Winners of Student Art Exhibit Announced at Awards Reception

Tweet Button

Winners of the Student Art Exhibit were announced at the Awards Reception on Sunday, March 2, 2014 at MSUFCU’s headquarters. The exhibit featured the artwork of students from 13 local area high schools, who received awards based on the public vote and on selections by a panel of judges. Over 9,000 votes were cast online and in person by members and people in the community, who were excited to participate in voting for their favorite works of art.  


Students, their parents, and the community arrived at headquarters to attend the Awards Reception and hear from speaker, Aimee Shapiro, the Director of Education at The Eli and Edythe Broad Art Museum, who spoke on the importance of arts education and taking advantage of the museums and resources we have here in Michigan. Through our sponsorship and hosting of this annual event, we are able to show our support for local area high school students, who were excited to showcase their talent and exhibit their work in the community.


Juried Awards went to the top three student pieces that were selected by a panel of judges, along with ten Honorable Mentions.

  • First Place: Kierstynn Holman, Webberville High School
  • Second Place: Ian Campa, Haslett High School
  • Third Place: Dane Porter, Lansing Christian High School
  • Erica Bartlett, Mason High School
  • Danielle Reinhart, Grand Ledge High School
  • Kaitlin Houghton, Mason High School
  • Mia McPherson, East Lansing High School
  • Vincent Sparling, Waverly High School
  • Hannah Jones, St. Johns High School
  • Alexis McCarrick, St. Johns High School
  • Anai Montalvo, Everett High School
  • Hanlon Daughtery, Clifford, Waverly High School
  • Dominic Knisely, Grand Ledge High School
  • Dane Porter, Lansing Christian High School

The People’s Choice Awards were given to the top three artists who received the highest number of votes from the public voting competition. Votes were submitted online and in person.

  • First Place: Dane Porter, Lansing Christian High School
  • Second Place: Rebecca Hull, Lansing Christian High School
  • Third Place: Nikki Rakestraw, Lansing Christian High School

In addition to these awards, Lansing Christian High School received the School Spirit Award for having the highest total votes from the public voting competition, and Jared Eberly of Webberville High School won the Social Media Award, which was determined by how many “likes” it received while being shared on social media.


Keep an eye out for more art exhibits at MSUFCU this year!